Skip to main content

What I learnt from the Ceiling Fan in my room

When we are lost or start to feel hopeless and clueless, we will grab everything we see and hold on to it dearly. We will have this tendency to drive deeper into "the zone" to get us more into the "mood". When we are sad, we listen to sad song. When we are depressed, we watch tear-jerking movies. As if our inside world is not dark enough, we are just so attracted to ruin ourselves more. It drives us deeper to our shit and not wanting to find back the way out to the real world. 

            This notion hit me especially hard when I drove myself crazy with my mumbled thoughts lately. I was having insomnia the other night. I couldn’t sleep and might I tell you that I am a privileged kid that usually do not have problem of sleeping like a pig. So this was like a new-found field that I found myself so difficult to adjust to. I couldn’t sleep because all the bad shit that I could possibly think of started to squeeze up and consume my brain. The uncertainties and unknowns happening in the world - families, friends, relationships, career and future shit kept rushing to my brain like they fought to get my attention and shouted at me to focus on their problem first instead of the others. It was too fast that I couldn’t even brain it.

            My mind just shut down and I just mindlessly look at my ceiling with wide eyes and not much of sleepiness at all. As if the thoughts took control of my mind, I just zombie-like looked at the emptiness. But ended up there is no emptiness since I was still looking at something. I was looking at my ceiling and the fan in my room was right above my head.

            You have no idea how everything come after just struck me so surprisingly off-guarded. The ceiling fan coincidentally positioned in a way that a big Y was directed in front of my eyes. All of a sudden, boom! All shitty thoughts gone with one single syllable left in the room. I quietly mouthed the syllable out: Y.

No doubt my room is full of magic!

Y = Why

            A big WHY is plastered right on top of my head! I can’t speak for all but lately I have been always pondering so many, many, many things that I forget why it was even there at the first place. Why do I even start to have this idea? Why is it a concern to myself? Why does it matter to my life at all? Or does it even matter?

            I have been so caught up with the shit that I forgot why this thing helps me feel and makes me feel what I want to do after all this time. For example, I have always loved to write, but I am just like anyone who will face writing block. I struggle so much to come out the great content yet could represent who I really am. Do I write it for people or for myself? Do we do what we do now for ourselves or for people around us? Do we do it for our own view of success like freedom of expression and joy of helping people or people’s view of success like wealth and power?  

By not reminding ourselves constantly about our WHY, we will sway away from our original path and move further from the destination. 

            We will keep saying YES to every request people demand from us that we thought that’s who we are and what we want. It can be just illusion shit that everyone want to be feel wanted and needed. People crave for approval and compliment and respect from others, even strangers. We are all vain and shitty.

               I don’t really know how to end this piece as I struggle to think straight these few days.  This post sounds and does look like a lot of shit. So I guess I will leave you here going to your ceiling fan and look for clues there. Have fun with that.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

'love' drawing

 A little art drawing about love. From my POV.  Draw yours as it can be eye-opening for what your heart truly looks for. Onion in love What does love look like to you? Who/What was your first love? Is love scary to you? What trait do you want in someone you love? What is your favourite animal? Can be real or fantasy PS, I am not a good artist at all. But this is good enough to figure out who I am and what I want. In some way at least. Have fun and enjoy.

You don't change,Lives change you

Changes might sound terrifying to you, especially when you are used to being in your own comfort zone. But, change is the only constant in life . I just wanna be the best of me Even though sometimes, we might disagree So that I can be the best for you That's all I wanna do The current worldwide pandemic is the greatest example at this moment, if not the worst. We are forced to make some changes in our daily lifestyles to accustom to the situation we face right now. We are staying at home when we should be out there working or studying. We are staying at home when we should be enjoying the sunset after a long walk with our loved ones. We are staying at home because we need to be “there” to help our frontliners fighting against the virus. Before this whole panic happened, I guess a lot of people were very comfortable in their current states. I do not mean that it was actually a bad thing. Being happy and content about your life is something I wouldn’t ask more for you...

YES Pain YES Gain

‘No Pain, No Gain’ has been a rather common heard idiom that someone will say while encouraging others to be more open to challenges and try new things so that more opportunities and experiences can be gained. This is ME  from The Greatest Showman           I have always been so open to new experiences that my life motto is “LAI!” to every challenge or rants my friends threw at me. “Lai” means ‘come on’ in Cantonese. Like, how I sometimes call out my poop in the toilet. The irrational and reckless Vivian will not consider the consequences and say YES to every fcuking dare people threw at me. This can lead to some really terrible consequences. Yet, I never did learn my lesson. Because of something I hold dear to, NO REGRET!           I led a really adrenaline-rushing year in 2019, because that year the rebellious, egoistic, careless monster was controlling my whole body and so...